Author Topic: Reno Front row!!  (Read 4362 times)

Offline gibbo_335

• Alpha Rooster
  • Flying the NT
Reno Front row!!
« on: September 12, 2007, 12:11:16 AM »
 ::cowboy:: RENO is one of the shows I MUST see..getting a case of whiplash at an event like that will just add to the experience  ::loony:: ..sorry wots that?!!?!! Can't hear ya!!  ::rofl::..BTW love this weeks strip!!!!!  ::bow:: ::bow::
YEWWWwwwwwwwww

Offline The Dancing Bear

• Fledgling
  • DammifIknow where we're going!"
Re: Reno Front row!!
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2007, 12:58:23 AM »
Getting whiplash at Reno, is like bulging er,ah, eyes at a Hawiian Tropic beauty contest, some things just come with the fun !
A&P / IA. by profession, Parrothead by choice.

Offline Rooster Cruiser

• Alpha Rooster
  • Retired Chicken Hauler
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2007, 05:32:10 AM »
I am afraid Chuck and the Reno race fans are seeing some fatalities this year...  Very sad news.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,296742,00.html

RENO, Nev.  —  For the second time in three days, a pilot was killed in a crash Thursday at the Reno National Championship Air Races.

Brad Morehouse of Afton, Wyo., was "killed instantly" when his jet crashed about 2:45 p.m., touching off a small brush fire along the runway at Stead Airport just north of Reno, said Michael Houghton, president of the air races.

It marked the 17th fatality in the 44-year history of the races.

Morehouse, co-owner of Afton Flight Service in Wyoming, was flying an L-39 Albatross he named "Dino Juice," a jet often used for military flight training.

He was flying in the second heat of the jet class competition. He had finished fourth in Wednesday's qualifying round, reaching a maximum speed of 504 mph, race officials said.

The crash, first reported on the Reno Gazette-Journal's Web site, forced the suspension of Thursday's afternoon competition. Firefighters quickly extinguished the blaze.