Author Topic: What do the crew say before the crash  (Read 3319 times)

Offline titinka

Offline cj5_pilot

• Rooster
  • "Fly Fast, Fly Low, Turn Left"
    • Alaskan Aviators
Re: What do the crew say before the crash
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2006, 08:36:57 PM »
A bit grim honestly.  As a pilot I don't like to think about what the last seconds are like were I to make a grave mistake.
The average pilot, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy and caring. These feelings just don't involve anyone else.

Offline Herk Fixer

• Oklahoma Wreckchasing
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2006, 09:46:33 PM »
Grim, indeed.  Ya know, sometimes I think websites (& other media) feature that stuff just to titilate others.  But as someone who studies aviation safety (and surveys aircraft crash sites), there is value in looking back at what happened to cause a mishap.  As a pilot and mechanic, I do try keep in mind that every crash is a lesson for the rest of us.  Just this past weekend, I surveyed the crash site of a Cessna 310 on a mountain here in OK (http://okwreckchasing.com/unknown1.html)  I do believe studying the aftermath can help us all grow as pilots.

Just a couple of cents....
The Tower!?  The Tower!?  Rapunzel!  Rapunzel! - Johnny

Offline tundra_flier

• Alpha Rooster
  • It's not an old plane, it's a classic!
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2006, 04:23:10 AM »
Well, one of the local EAA members claims that when a con rod came through the cowling on his Mooney at 1,000 agl he had the pressence of mind to tell his passenger "Well, I just became a glider pilot!".   ;D

Offline TheSoccerMom

• Chicken Farmer
  • Alpha Rooster
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2006, 05:27:08 AM »
Herk Fixer, you are right ON the money here.  If we can just learn from all that has already happened, at least we might gain some understanding when things go wrong on us.