Author Topic: Becoming a Pilot  (Read 8406 times)

Offline SirCmpwn

Becoming a Pilot
« on: February 25, 2012, 11:10:46 AM »
Relevant

Hi there,

I'm currently 18, and I live in Colorado Springs (very near the Air Force Academy). I'm a military dependent. I work full-time as a web developer, and am very good at what I do, speaking at professional events to crowds four times my age frequently. However, as much as I enjoy and love doing this, I would really love to pilot planes. More specifically, fighter jets. They're small, fast, and awesome, but I would settle for less.

There are some other considerations, which is why I come to AskReddit. I'm currently living on my own, and do not expect generous assistance from my parents. I make around 38k a year, so I obviously don't have much to put away. I can't really save up for a license of some sort, and I cannot afford college. I'm often told that I am very intelligent and I produce quality work for my job, but school never interested me and I didn't make good grades. What means of proving my intellectual integrity are strong enough to realistically substitute for grades? My unweighted GPA was 2.54, and weighted was 2.63.

The obvious solution for me would be the USAFA - not only are they free if you get in, but they provide an easy path to flying fighter jets. The Air Force is generally a pretty tame military branch, with a safe and moderate position in most conflicts. However, without extremely good grades, I stand next to no chance of being accepted into this very selective school. Less so consideration that I've waited nearly a year to attend college for financial considerations.

The alternative at this point would be seeking a private license, which would make flying fighter jets difficult, and be very far outside my financial reach.

Part of my inspiration for flying these planes is my "adopted" brother - a great guy my family sponsored when he was a cadet. He's now a captain and he flies an F-16.