Author Topic: Headsets  (Read 4652 times)

Offline JerradsDad

Headsets
« on: November 04, 2007, 11:45:02 PM »
My 17 Year old son just got his pilots license, and I want to get him a noise cancelling headset. He flies a Cessna 172. Since he is planning a career in aviation I want to get him something that will last him for some time. The flight school recommends $1000 Bose. I have been an electronics technician for 35 years and have found most all Bose CONSUMER equipment to be over priced junk. Is this true of their headsets? What do you suggest? Thanks for the help, I'm lost on this one.

Offline Baradium

• Alpha Rooster
Re: Headsets
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2007, 02:20:35 AM »
With my company Bose headsets are fairly popular.   Telex and Lightspeeds are the two other well known brands.

Bose seems to be the standard that everyone measures against as far as aviation headsets go.   

I think the flight school or instructor does get a discount or incentive for recommending bose, but they are popular among pilots without that reason to buy/sell as well.

My big complaint is price, but they are immensely popular among airline pilots.   The Telex and Lightspeed headsets also seem to be good units if you are looking for a little less sticker shock on price.   However, all around aviation ANR is pretty spendy.

"Well I know what's right, I got just one life
In a world that keeps on pushin' me around
But I stand my ground, and I won't back down"
  -Johnny Cash "I won't back Down"

Offline G-man

• Alpha Rooster
  • Cogito sumere potum alterum.
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2007, 04:51:36 AM »